Simulated Help: Book Review of Scenario-Based Training with X-Plane and Microsoft Flight Simulator

So I haven’t been around the blog much the last few weeks and its because I have flow only twice in the last 5 weeks. I did get to fly today and grease in one nice landing. The rest of the landings had the force of  Thor hitting the ground with his magic hammer.  I also don’t have the years of aviation stories in reserve to delight you with, I actually have to fly to tell flying stories. But enough of this complaining, let me complain about something else instead.

As many of you know, I have a love/hate relationship with our flight simulator. I though this book could help, Scenario-based training with X-Plane and Microsoft Flight Simulator by Bruce Williams. Mr Williams worked on 6 versions of Microsoft Flight Simulator in his 15 years at Microsoft and owns a aviation company and has been flying since the 1970s. I don’t know him personally, that’s the blurb on the book jacket. The man has credibility, unfortunately this book reads like a 1980s computer manual.

The part of this book I was most interested in was the setup and optimizing FSX. I’m still having a difficult time with the sim and was looking for some tips.  A small bit of background, I have grown up with computers. No. I didn’t have a mini computer called a smartphone to carry in my jacket as a kid but I could draw a house with the turtle on the Apple IIe like nobody’s business. Back to the main point of this paragraph, I eagerly flipped to page 78 to get me a better idea about the realism setting. Do you know what I found? A picture of the Setting-Realism menu. Wow. I want to know what setting to input in the menu.

Old School Apple Computer

The rest of the book was a disappointment. Most of the book is flight lessons that I was uninterested to fly. You can download the scenario files on the Wiley website but use http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/WileyTitle/productCd-1118105028.html. Wiley’s website update is not reflected in the book. Most of text in this book is unhelpful unless you are a USAF Test Pilot School Grad.

I give this book two thumbs down. It did not deliver the description blurbs so I’m  back to yelling at the sim. I was looking for was downloadable configuration flies but that is hardware dependent. My sim hardware is Saitek and they should step it up to offer some.

Thumbs Down!

Post your FSX tips below or on this blog post. We can figure this out together.

DISCLAIMER: *I was not financially compensated for this post. I did not receive any sample for review purposes, I checked it out from the library. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. Please don’t sue me.*

3 responses to “Simulated Help: Book Review of Scenario-Based Training with X-Plane and Microsoft Flight Simulator

  1. I wish I could help you Nicole. But I believe you are just to smart! I didn’t even understand half of that!!! 🙂 I hope you figure it out though.

Leave a Reply

