Back in Action

We.  Are.  Back.

Yes, it’s been more than a month since our last posting. But then again, it’s been more than a month since our last flights.  November was just downright brutal in the weather category. And when the weather cleared up, the airplanes were broke. And when the airplanes were not broke, someone else took them when we had them scheduled (that was an interesting conversation that Nic had with the club manager).

T-41FSX-T-41C-military

So after a trip to California, a record breaking cold spell, two full weeks of low ceilings, outrageous cross winds and the incredibly idiotic practices of the Aero Club… we’re back flying.  I’m not kidding when I say idiotic. There was actually a day in there where the weather was good and clear, the winds were nice and calm, the jet was ready and willing. But for some reason they would not let me fly because I had missed the monthly safety meeting.  For real.  I can’t make this shit up.  A safety meeting. I went to one a few months back and it was a complete waste of time. I said that I’m not going to be doing that again, until the chief pilot informed me that the local policy is that if you don’t go to the safety meetings then you cannot act as Pilot in Command of any aircraft.

I pay for this.  American dollars.  For real.

Well, I’m doing a series of cross country flying sorties and that should get interesting. So long as I stay visual with the 14 thousand feet of Pike’s Peak, I should not get lost. But hey, putting a career navigator with his entire life flying with a crew of people by himself in a single engine aircraft and letting him loose on the Colorado wilderness is a clearly a great idea.

What could go wrong?

One response to “Back in Action

Leave a Reply

